About E-MDTs

Each year over 260,000 older adults are victims of elder abuse in New York State. Financial exploitation is a fast growing and complex form of elder abuse that can have devastating consequences for older adult victims. While elder abuse multidisciplinary teams are emerging in various localities across the country, Enhanced Multidisciplinary Teams (E-MDTs) differ in that they focus on financial exploitation while also addressing other co-occurring forms of abuse. 

E-MDTs are comprised of professionals from various disciplines whose primary focus is to investigate, intervene, and prevent financial exploitation of older adults. E-MDTs have unique access to a forensic accountant and geriatric psychiatrist in addition to drawing on the expertise of disciplines including aging services, the financial industry, and local legal and law enforcement. The team provides a holistic response which includes recommendations and support to those working on complex cases of financial exploitation. 

E-MDT Membership

Membership is based on the unique needs and resources of the individual county. It is important to identify and recruit E-MDT members representing key programs and services within each county.

Key member agencies for each county include:

  • Coordinator

  • Adult Protective Services

  • District Attorney’s Office

  • Law enforcement

  • Office for the Aging

Additional member agencies to consider may include:

  • Elder abuse prevention providers

  • Civil legal service providers

  • Bank/credit unions

  • Financial advisors

  • Domestic violence service providers

  • Ombudsman

  • Welfare fraud investigator

  • Veterans Administration

  • Department of Social Services

  • Elder law attorney

  • County Attorney’s Office

  • Attorney General’s Office

  • Department of Taxation and Finance

Lifespan oversees development of E-MDTs in Upstate NY. The New York City Elder Abuse Center (NYCEAC) oversees E-MDT development in New York City. 

Counties with E-MDTs (either functioning or in development)

  • Allegany

  • Broome

  • Bronx

  • Cattaraugus

  • Cayuga

  • Chautauqua

  • Chemung

  • Chenango

  • Clinton

  • Cortland

  • Delaware

  • Dutchess

  • Erie

  • Essex

  • Franklin

  • Genesee

  • Herkimer

  • Jefferson

  • Kings (Brooklyn)

  • Lewis

  • Livingston

  • Madison

  • Monroe

  • Nassau

  • New York (Manhattan)

  • Niagara

  • Oneida

  • Onondaga

  • Ontario

  • Orleans

  • Oswego

  • Otsego

  • Queens

  • Richmond (Staten Island)

  • Schuyler

  • Seneca

  • St. Lawrence

  • Suffolk

  • Tioga

  • Thompkins

  • Ulster

  • Wayne

  • Wyoming

  • Yates

This program is funded in part by New York State Office for the Aging, US Department of Justice Office of Victims of Crime, New York State Office of Victim Services and Lifespan of Greater Rochester Inc.